RSS

Happy Holidays but…where did the bookstores go?

24 Dec

An Irish tourist came up to me yesterday near Times Square and said she’d been hunting for a bookstore to buy some gifts. I told her this was the worst neighborhood for books in Manhattan now, but if she went over to 57th Street between 5th and 6th Avenues, she could shop at Rizzoli’s.

It’s true, though. With the Borders closing at Columbus Circle, the Times Square and Clinton (aka Hell’s Kitchen) neighborhoods are without a decent bookstore.

Within these covers, treasure waits...

Borders was not the greatest bookstore, but it was a pleasant place to browse.

I think it’s kind of pathetic that with all the stuff they sell in Times Square–a lot of it crap–there is no bookstore or even a decent newsstand to browse for magazines. A “crossroads of the world” without a venue for information about that world in tangible form (i.e., books and mags) is sorely lacking.

Oh well. I like going down to Union Square anyway, so the Barnes & Noble, Forbidden Planet, and Strand will get my trade. As if I need more books anyhow!

Maybe I'm nuts, but for some reason, this stack of tomes reminds me of the Venus De Milo.

Even though I contribute to the decline of print with my own ebooks, I am thinking of publishing my stories in a paperback format too. But we’ll see if the sales of my ebooks merit such an expenditure on my part. Ebooks are inexpensive to publish; the opposite is true for paperbound volumes.

Meanwhile, if you want to read one of my stories for free, just click on the link on the top of this page for the COMPLETE SHORT STORY: DEPARTMENT STORE DOMINA! And if you like it, you can click ahead to Amazon to get a few of my others on Kindle. Don’t just fill those virginal Kindles you’ll get for gifts with high-minded literature and potboilers; they need erotica too, and if you like femdom, perhaps you’ll enjoy my excursions into the world of dominant ladies and the men who love to serve them…

If I sound a little curmudgeonly today, it’s because I’m trying to get over a darn cold! Who wants to be sniffling and coughing on a holiday weekend! But I wish everybody a Merry Christmas and Happy Hanukkah and thank you for buying and reading my ebooks these last six months. I’ll be publishing many more in 2012. And if you ever feel inclined to leave comments about my stories either here or on Amazon, I would be most grateful.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on December 24, 2011 in Erotica

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Happy Holidays but…where did the bookstores go?

  1. Herman Glimsher

    December 24, 2011 at 1:57 pm

    Merry Christmas, Irv. I too lament the loss of the city’s great bookstores, notably, the Gotham Book Mart on West 47th Street. The city has never been the same without it. That’s where I purchased original Olympia Press volumes that they brought up from the back room.

     
  2. irvoneil

    December 24, 2011 at 3:05 pm

    Ah, the Gotham! A real treasure trove. Loved to browse there for literary mags, ancient history books, and all manner of obscura as well as film books and…well, the list goes on. WISE MEN FISHED THERE, indeed, as the slogan went.

    Merry Christmas to you too, Herman! I hoist a shot of Jameson to the Gotham.

     

Leave a Reply

 
