RSS

The Playboy Club: better late than never!

21 Sep

The show reminded me of the fast-moving crime B-movies of yore...

I enjoyed the show The Playboy Club last Monday night. It’s a fun melodrama with an interesting setting and an attractive cast. Sure, the character of Nick Dalton is a little reminiscent looks- and sound-wise of Mad Men’s Don Draper, but so what? Actor Eddie Cibrian is his own man. There was room enough for more than one sharp leading man in old style Hollywood flicks, so why not on modern day tv?

I grew up in Chicago in the 50s and 60s and the Playboy Club had a real mystique. My friends and I all wanted to grow up fast so we could check it out. Unfortunately by the time we were old enough, in the early 70s, it had already become a relic of another era and had lost its cache. I don’t remember when the Playboy Clubs closed but they weren’t on the list of spots to hit by the time Studio 54 was hot. But now at last I get to go there vicariously by watching this program. Better late than never. I wonder how close the recreation of the old club actually is.

Playboy, the magazine, inspired me a lot and it’s one reason I became a professional editor and writer for men’s mags. Yes, I was one of those guys who read the articles as well as looked at the pictures. The fiction was terrific, and I basically learned the technique of interviewing from reading the masterful Q&As in Playboy.

In its golden era, a truly magnificent periodical; and today, a veritable time machine you can browse through.

And gazing upon Sue Williams, the centerfold for the April 1965 issue, shown above, basically turned me into an assman, a predilection culminating professionally in my seventeen year editorship (1988-2005) of the publication Cheeks, which I subtitled: “The Magazine That Understands the Power of a Woman’s Bottom!”

A photograph of classic perfection...almost a vision of utopia!

For Cheeks, I was always searching for new models who combined, like Sue Williams did, a pretty face with an equally memorable derriere; and I found quite a few along the way to populate my passionately assembled pages! It was truly a labor of love and lust.

We mixed flirtatiousness with up-to-date explicitness in Cheeks!

You can find some vintage copies of Cheeks at oldmags.com. I’ve never bought from them myself, but that’s where I found these cover images. I have all these mags, but it’s just too much work sometimes to dig them out of boxes…

The language is hotter, but my awestruck admiration of the butt is clear!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on September 21, 2011 in Erotica

 

2 responses to “The Playboy Club: better late than never!

  1. Amazon

    January 10, 2015 at 4:55 am

    Thanks for the link Irv.

     
    • irvoneil

      January 11, 2015 at 1:09 pm

      My pleasure, Amazon, that site has an amazing assortment of vintage magazines!

       

Leave a Reply

 
