RSS

Celebrity beauty 1914 and 2014

31 Dec

Ensconced in my apartment not far from the Times Square madness of New Year’s Eve, ready to eat a salami-on-rye, drink my Milwaukee’s Best, and watch my Sinister Cinema DVD of The Invisible Man vs. The Human Fly, I offer this brief glimpse of how things have changed…

With the advent of 2014, we’ll be hearing a lot about 1914, when the First World War started, bringing with it the beginnings of the society we know today. With that in mind, let’s look at a picture of a female celebrity who was at the top of her game in 1914, the British actress Gladys Cooper…regarded as eminently “drool-worthy” in her day–and I fully understand why.

As the poet Wallace Stevens wrote, “Beauty is momentary in the mind, the fitful tracing of a portal; but in the flesh, it is immortal.” I agree.

One of the great beauties of her era.

One of the great beauties of her era.

And now let us consider a pic of a female celebrity of 2014, Coco

As the creator & former editor (1988-2005) of CHEEKS magazine, I approve.

As the creator & former editor (1988-2005) of CHEEKS magazine, I approve.

Hmm, has it only been a century since 1914? Seems to me Coco’s butt represents 50,000 years of evolution!

Happy 2014, my fellow fanciers of the Eternal Feminine in all its myriad forms!

 
3 Comments

Posted by on December 31, 2013 in Times Square

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “Celebrity beauty 1914 and 2014

  1. Mike

    January 3, 2014 at 8:55 am

    Irv, I just came across your blog today. Your stuff is amazing, I love it!

    I’m not sure if you could help me, but I’m looking to track down a few copies of Leg Show from the late 80s/early 90s without much luck (not on amazon/old mags, etc.). Would you happen to have any insight on where else to look or maybe who to get in touch with to find them? Thanks for your time. Mike

     
    • irvoneil

      January 5, 2014 at 2:05 pm

      Hi Mike,

      Thanks for the nice words. Glad you’re enjoying my blog!

      Check out a site called usedmagazines dot com. I have no connection to them and I’ve never dealt with them myself or purchased anything from them, but I’d heard their name. Judging by their catalogue, they seem to have the Leg Shows you are looking for.

      I hope you find the issues you want! Best–Irv

       

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,126 other followers

